Identify Objectives For Entrepreneurial Project:

 

Over the past two weeks have been thinking about an entrepreneurial project that could relate to my course .

‘Freelancing and Journalism Enterprise’ does not really give you the broadest of choices in what kind of business you could set up. Quickly, I came to the conclusion that the most realistic and down to earth idea was to start-up as a freelancer. Therefore, I have asked myself what does freelance mean. Apart from the obvious adjectives and expressions that automatically come to mind – precarious, tough, unsustainable, stressful, on the rope – there is also the underlying idea of independence, success and broad audience residing in the term.

  • Independence as a way of working
  • Success as the condition of a prosperous flourishing “business”
  • Audience as the people who will listen to what you have to say and possibly pay for it

 In order to give life to my project I have asked myself the following questions:

  • Who am I? What do I do?

I am a psychology graduate, a blogger with an interest in journalism, music, cinema and culture. I write online, read a lot of publications. Two of the things I show a great interest towards are :

  • The “underground”/subcultures
  • Write stories

From here, I realised the two could be mixed to cover “underground stories”. In other words, stories nobody would have thought could interest people. That is the kind of thing Vice magazine does.

  • What are my skills?

My level of expertise would probably be somewhere in between online blogging, music and cinema reviewing. Fair enough, a lot of people could boast about having the same skills and call themselves “online bloggers”, “music reviewers” or “movie critics”. As far as I am concerned, writing for webzines, watching movies, listening to music and reading about it is a good way to broaden your knowledge and hone your skills.

With university, we as students are encouraged to go out there and find stories, which is what journalists essentially do. Moreover, as I mentioned in an earlier post, I am also working on developing chameleon skills; that is to say in broadcasting, writing (through NEN and ATD) and radio (with the application audioBooM).

  • Who is my audience?

I have actually identified three different audiences that I can split in according to their interest: (1) cinema (2) music and (3) journalism. As a matter of fact, is the freelancer not meant to be able to write about pretty much everything, adapting his style to a given audience? Concerning what I currently do, my audience is interested in music, cinema and news equally and is looking to broaden its knowledge in those industries. That is why I need to be a step ahead of them and give them the information they are looking for.

  • Identify Role Models?

Vice MAGAZINE writer: Clive Martin and James Nolan.

Etienne Menu who recently launched his magazine Audimat, host Musique Info Service on dailymotion.com, is part of the editorial team of GQ France and did some freelance reportages for Vice.

Roger Ebert, a famous movie critic who sadly past away last year.

  • Identify objectives

Steps:

  1. Research into how to set up as a freelancer.
  2. Build a presence online with platforms such as Twitter, WordPress, Pressfolio.
  3. Interview professionals that have succeeded in what I am trying to achieve.
  4. Come up with a plan of action on starting up (using the Business Model Canvas).
One thought on “Identify Objectives For Entrepreneurial Project:

Leave a Reply

